‘Dishonest, awful’: Alec Baldwin lashes film critic

Posted by

Alec Baldwin’s treatment of a film critic has left some wondering whether it was the Emmy award-winning actor or his Donald Trump impersonation in charge of his Twitter account on Thursday afternoon.
SuZhou Night Recruitment

The Saturday Night Live star has gone on an epic rant against a writer for US pop culture site Decider, with some going as far as to label the online tirade sexist.

In a series of now-deleted tweets sent from his charity’s account, Baldwin called Kayla Cobb a “dreadful writer” because of a piece she’d written about his 2013 documentary with James Toback. Cobb wrote that Seduced and Abandoned now carries “sinister implications” thanks to the Harvey Weinstein scandal and the fact Toback has been accused of sexual harassment by more than 200 women.

“I cheered when Gawker lost its case to Hulk [Hogan],” Baldwin wrote. “So, of course The Decider wants to tar me with the Toback brush. Kayla Cobb, you are a dreadful writer.”

The Decider is owned by News Corp and has no affiliation to the now-defunct gossip website Gawker. When Cobb replied to Baldwin’s tweet and provided her email in case he would like to make a statement about Toback, the television personality fired back.

“I would send you an email, on any subject, if you weren’t such a dishonest, awful writer,” he said.

“Is that a ‘No comment’ on Toback?” Cobb asked.

“Why don’t you let prosecutors and real journalists investigate such cases and you stick to divorces and plastic surgery,” the 30 Rock star replied.

Baldwin’s behaviour has been slammed as rude and sexist, leading him to tweet from his personal account: “Liberal assholes are worse than conservative assholes.” Mr. Baldwin has blocked me, but he is also sending me tweets I can’t see. Reminder: I’m a TV critic and this is over a documentary from 2013 pic.twitter苏州夜总会招聘/akH0TtRehm??? Kayla Cobb (@KaylCobb) October 26, 2017Liberal assholes are worse than conservative assholes.??? AlecBaldwin (@AlecBaldwin) October 26, 2017